AAAN inaugurates new BoT

  • Owoborede, others out, Ufot, others in




The Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria has inaugurated new members of the body’s Board of Trustees paving way for the old members to vacate the position.

In an elaborate swearing in ceremony in Lagos, the Association appointed Udeme Ufot, former Chairman of Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria/ MD/CEO, SO&U, Lolu Akinwunmi, former APCON Chairman/Group CEO, Prima Garnet, Eyinnaya Odigbo, Chairman Casers Group, Association’s President Kayode Oluwasona and Mrs. Bola Thomas, who is the only surviving member of the old BoT in the new one.

Ufot is the new chairman is the newly constituted board.

The departing BoT had served in the board for over 12 years and its members are a veteran adman, Ayo Owoborode, who was the chairman of the old board, Akin Odunsi, chairman Rosabel Group, Biodun Shobanjo, Executive Chairman, Troyka Group, Sir Steve Omojafor, former chairman of zenith Bank and chairman, STB McCann and Mrs. Thomas who has retained her seat in the new board.

From left: Mr Lolu Akinwunmi, Group CEO Prima Garnet, Mrs. Bola Thomas, Chairman, LTC JWT Group, Ayo Owoborode, Outgoing Chairman of Association Board of Trustee, Mr. Udeme Ufot, Incoming BoT Chairman/CEO SO&U, and Mr. Kayode Oluwasona, Association’s President at the inauguration of new Board of Trustees members of Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria Board of Trustees in Lagos recently

In a 2-in-1 event tagged “Night of Honours”, while thanking the out gone board members, Oluwasona said, in the last thirteen years, as trustees, they have guided and led us with uncommon skills, experience, commitment, passion and maturity.


“They successfully opened doors for the Association in several keys circles, suggested policy directions and offered wise counsels which have contributed immensely to the sustainability and formidability of the Association in particular and the industry in general,” he said.


He said “As president of the Association, I have been a beneficiary of their collective wisdom, as a major initiative the association is currently pursuing for better finicail health under my leadership started as a suggestion from them”.


According to him “But for the truth that there is time for everything, and that after a period of hard and quality work, a good rest is deserved, it would have been very difficult for the Association to agree to the desire of some of the trustees to disengage at the end of the board’s tenure at the 27th annual general meeting of the Association.”


Oluwasona said to fill the vacuum left on the board by the recent disengagements, the Executive Board did not have to stress, as AAAN is blessed with an abundance of qualified men and women, who over the years have held their own in professionalism, enterprise, leadership, world view and class.


He also said that delegates at the 2017 annual general meeting of the Association unanimously ratified all the three names that are added to the board as he declared his faith in the new selected members of the board.


Also the Association recognized and honoured for their dedicated service members who have been on active duties over the years. The award recipients include founder, ServeWell limited, Ayo Owoborode; Chairman, Board of Directors of The Rosabel Group, Akin Odunsi; founder of Troyka Group, Biodun Shobanjo; the immediate past Chairman of Zenith Bank Plc, Steve Omojafor; Chairman of LTC Advertising Limited, Bola Thomas; group CEO of SO&U Group, Udeme Ufot; Chairman of Casers Group, Enyinnaya Odigbo and the immediate past Chairman of APCON, Lolu Akinwunmi.