Agenmonmen Emerges New NIMN President

Onubogu, Promasidor Commercial Director, Joins Council

tony-agenmonmen - 789marketingFormer Senior Strategy  Manager, Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mr. Tony Agenmonmen has been elected the next president and chairman of council, National Institute of Marketing of Nigeria (NIMN).

Agenmonmen, who was declared winner following the sudden withdrawal of his opponent, Dr. Rotimi Olaniyan,  from the race, shortly before the commencement of balloting, is expected to run the affairs of the institute for the next two years.

Congratulating  the former Nigerian Breweries Plc chieftain and his opponent for putting up a good ‘fight’, the immediate past president of the institute, Aare Ganiyu Koledoye however urged members of the institute to give the new leadership the needed support in the arduous task of taking the institute to enviable heights.

In his acceptance speech, the newly-elected president assured members of his commitment to honouring every of his campaign promises.

While identifying the numerous challenges facing the institute and marketing practice in Nigeria, the new NIMN boss promised that one of the priorities of his administration would be to find a suitable secretariat for the institute, while also putting in place strategies at ensuring that the products of the institute earn the deserved respect both in the public and private sectors of the economy.

Other elected council members are: Bewaji Babatunde, Chuka Ebora, Kachi Onubogu and Yahaya Fufure.

Meanwhile,  one of the institute’s former president and chairman of  Council, late Chief Lugard Aimiuwu  was  conferred with the institute’s  Marketing Titan Award at the two –day event.

Aimiuwu, who bagged the title with seven other marketing professionals, including the institute’s former first Vice President, Chief Sylva Emoekpere, were honoured for their contributions to the growth of marketing practice in the country.

Explaining the rationale behind the Titan Award, the immediate past president and Chairman of Council of the institute, Aare Ganiyu Koledoye explained that the awardees were being celebrated for their role in the making of the institute, especially during its trying times, and the growth of marketing practice in the country.

“This occasion is designed to celebrate those who have made it possible for us, marketers, to own our institute and ensure that marketing practice takes its pride of place among the comity of professions in the country.

“ In the course of my presidency, I’ve worked with these titans, and I found them to be very colourful people. These are people who are passionate about the profession and  whose concerns have always been how to move the practice to the next level.

“They are being celebrated today for the younger ones to know that hardwork, diligence, honesty and commitment still pay. This is our own of appreciating those contributions,” Koledoye stated.

Others honoured with the award include: Prince Yemisi Shylon, Chief Taiwo Fagbemi, Chief Lai Labode, Chief Sylva Emoekpere, Chief Femi Odufowokan, Kole Williams and Alhaji Mahmud Othman.