Anthony Osae-Brown leaves BusinessDay to head Bloomberg operation in Nigeria

The Daily Editor of BusinessDay, Anthony Osae-Brown will be leaving the BusinessDay Group on December 31, 2018 to join Bloomberg on January 1 2019.

Osae-Brown rejoined BusinessDay on October 2 2016 having worked there as chief analyst before joining UBA.

Osae-Brown replaced Philip Isakpa, then editor over his sudden resignation

At Bloomberg, Osae-Brown will be the Head, Nigeria Operation, making him one of the management executive in Africa.

Sources say Patrick Atuanya had been penciled to replace Osae-Brown at Businessday.

Osae-Brown, who left UBA as Head, Writer’s Bureau has brought top notch reportage to the leading business newspaper in Africa.

Osae-Brown is a financial journalist with over a decade experience in journalism and in the financial sector. He had worked with leading media organisations like BusinessDay (Nigeria) Mergermarket (formerly, financial intelligence service of the FT Group) and BBC (Contributing Analyst).


In the financial sector, he worked in the media department of Bank PHB(now Keystone Bank) before joining United Bank for Africa Plc (August 2013) as Head of the Group’s Writers Bureau.


The Writers Bureau writes/edits the bank’s internal and external communication including; press releases, features, product information, web content, internal/external publications, internal/investor communication and speeches.


Before joining UBA, Osae-Brown was the pioneer editor of BusinessDay’s Research and Intelligence Unit (BRIU), where he led a team to conduct in-depth, analytical and well researched reports on different sectors of the Nigerian economy. “I am most comfortable writing news stories/features from both financial and economic data,” he said.


He has is first degree in Finance and a Masters Degree (with Distinction) in Financial Journalism. Osae-Brown stories have won several awards, including; Best Business News Category, Diageo Africa Business Reporting Awards (DABRA) 2011 and Citi Journalistic Excellence Awards 2011.